Tags

, , , , ,

So…

I DID IT!  Two races in 2 weeks! 🙂 The Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 mile run (benefiting the Make a Wish Foundation) was my first race of the year and then this past weekend I ran my very first half-marathon (benefiting the Loudoun Abused Woman’s Shelter) .

I’d participated in the Cherry Blossom run 4 years ago, the next year I signed up and couldn’t run because of the worst shin splints I had and have ever had.  I had visible lumps on my shins, it was even hard to walk then and I’m sure I was probably very close to having stress fractures. So, the following year I tried to sign up again and the race was full.  Cut to December 2009 I crossed my fingers and hoped that I’d make it in lottery for a place in the race and I did! 🙂  Training this year had its ups and downs and its share of shin splints, sore muscles, irritated feet and strained knees.  I would train steadily and then bam! an injury would occur.  I would get discouraged, but eventually would continue on through my roller coaster of running to eventually race.

Crossing the finish line at the Cherry Blossom 10 miler

April 11, 2010 – CREDIT UNION CHERRY BLOSSOM 10 MILE RUN, WASHINGTON DC: The weather was perfect and I generally felt pretty good.  I did wrap my left leg as it is usually prone to shin splints and bothers me on long runs.  I also had to wrap my knee since I’d been having problems with it on long runs, pain that made it even difficult to walk.  If you look at my training log you’ll see that near the end of my training I didn’t log very many runs for that reason. :/  Any who, the run went pretty well, but around mile 6 my soleus muscle on my left leg tightened and my right knee hurt.  That’s okay though because I made it and that’s all that matters! 🙂  See my time here.

April 18, 2010 – RUN FOR SHELTER, LAWS HALF-MARATHON, LEESBURG VA: The weather was not so perfect.  It was pretty chilly and we were in the shade for a majority of the run.  I had been nursing a strained soleus muscle from the week before. Funny how the injury I think is going to limit my running potential doesn’t and a different one does. *sigh* I was pretty sure my knee was going to break out of my leg and my foot was going to fall off  (both injuries are on the same leg).  I fought tears for at least the last 4 miles of the run, but once again – I DID IT!  I finished the race! 🙂 I prayed so hard through those last miles and I know God was definitely there helping me to cross the finish line. See my time here.

I finished and now ummm can barely walk on my right foot, have an injured knee & can’t wait for more races. Ha! The running bug has definitely bitten me.  I just get such a sense of accomplishment. 🙂 I get to cross something off of my bucket list!

