Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve had asthma for as long as I can remember.  You know the kids that go to the nurse’s office twice a day for the routine inhaler puffs?  Yep, that was me.  I was an active kid though and I don’t really remember my asthma being that much of a problem, perhaps because I was on the correct meds. or I just refused to let it get me down.  Don’t get me wrong, it was definitely somewhat annoying then and unfortunately it still is now.  As an adult, I’ve had my asthma well under control for the most part and rarely need to take my inhaler.  Sure, sometimes physical activities cause wheezing every now and again and I have to cover my mouth in the cold and if I laugh too hard for too long I wheeze, oh and breathing in the spring can be tough at times with my allergy to pollen and grass, but it’s just something that my little lungs lived with so I tend not to notice it all…that is until now when I list it out, for goodness sakes!  Oh dear, the laughing too much for too long makes me feel like the biggest dork.  Really, who wants to be sitting in a funny movie or with friends laughing away and have to take a break for a couple of puffs from their inhaler?  Been there, done that and it is embarrassing.

I’m not as bad as this kid though(or at least I hadn’t been for a really long time):  

Remember him from The Goonies?! The little homie to Chester Copperpot took a puff every chance he could, he just really freaked out about everything and then couldn’t breath.  Poor kid.  I’ll give it to him though, anxiety doesn’t help a bit.

My point to all of this is that I’ve been having some pretty big asthma issues for the past few weeks. I haven’t been taking successful deep breaths, they just cut off and I feel like I don’t get enough oxygen even when I’m just sitting at my desk.  The only time I’ve been able to get deep breaths is through multiple sighs or yawns. Talk about a pain in the tush.  However, when I do get that deep breath, Oh my, that is HEAVEN!  The feeling is amazing, but disappears so quickly.

I’m supposed to be training for the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile run (perhaps you’ve checked out my training log?) and my breathing has been seriously holding me back.  I finally went to the Dr. where I did a breathing test, had a breathing treatment and was prescribed a new daily controller inhaler – Symbicort, can you hear the commercial? 😉  I am also back on daily allergy meds.

I’m really hoping that Symbicort will increase my lung function (hehehe I should totes be in the commercial) and will allow me to get back on track with my training.  The race is about a month away and I have some major slack to pick up.

I’ve always been so proud of how I am able to be a runner all while I have asthma.  It’s always been my little victory, you know?  Are you a runner with asthma? How do you train when asthma tries to slow you down? What helps you?  I’d love to know!

sigh – 😉

xoxo,

Update:  I did it! 🙂  I ran my heart out for 1:35:46 (a 9:35 pace)

Running my ♥ out.

