Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Almond butter…

I just really can’t get enough of the stuff so it’s only natural I would want to use it in a cookie recipe.  In my journey to find the perfect almond butter (BTW, Barney Butter wins hands down) I purchased one that I wasn’t a big fan of (ahem, Woodstock Farms All Natural Crunchy Almond Butter).  I didn’t care for it much, but didn’t want it to go to waste so I thought it might be worth trying to bake with it.  I have to say, it’s not half bad in a cookie.

Ingredients / Directions
(Yields 2 – 2 1/2 dozen)

* 1 c almond butter (I used a “fine ground” crunchy one, use what you prefer)
* 1 handful of Enjoy Life chocolate chips (or any mini chips of your choice)
* 1 c brown sugar
* 1 egg
* 1 t baking soda
* 1/2 t vanilla extract
* 1/2 t almond extract (If this is too “almondy” for you I think using another 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract would be yummy too, I happen to love the almond flavor)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

These cookies are SO easy to make. Mix all ingredients together; there’s no need to worry about mixing them in a certain order.  Mixing all of the ingredients together at the same time works perfect.

Grease your hands slightly (I use a bit of canola oil) and roll the dough into 1-inch balls. Place the cookie dough balls on a parchment-lined cookie sheet(s).  Bake for 8-10 minutes, times will vary based on your oven.

The cookies should be golden brown but not “done” looking.  Once you’ve removed the cookies from the oven allow the cookies to rest for about 5 mins on the cookie sheet. Then, carefully transfer the cookies to a cooking rack to finish cooling.

The cookies will be thin, chewy and most importantly delicious 🙂

Enjoy!

xoxo,

