Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Recalling this recipe this may be a bit of torcher since I’m currently on a health “reboot” {fruits, veggies & juicing fast}. Though my food allergies keep me away from most processed food I still indulged too much over the holidays.  Okay that’s not completely true, my indulging started well before Christmas. I’ve been kind of bad off and on since my move to Georgia. It started because of a hectic schedule, but turned into me just saying yes to tasty food that I knew wouldn’t set well with me and was just generally not that healthy. My dad recommended that I watch Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead on Netflix, not because I’m a chunker, because I’m not, but more because I expressed my disgust of my diet and a bit of a tire that I’m afraid may be appearing around my waist and mostly because at 20-something I’m reliant on Nexium for acid reflux.

I’m a sap to begin with, but the story of the sick truck driver that the documentary follows left me a little misty eyed and super motivated. If you haven’t seen it yet, go watch it and if you find it speaks to you as much as it did to me then your next step should be a visit to Join The Reboot where you can learn how to reboot yourself. I’m doing the 5x5x5 reboot {the Standard, I believe}.  I’m only on day two, but so far so good, well minus the killer headache from my caffeine withdrawal I had yesterday – YAY!

Since I chose to start 2012 with a boost for my health I can’t eat what I’m about to share with y’all for at least the next 2 weeks. But, fasting or not I still want to share this recipe because it’s easy, dairy free, soy free and delish.

Don’t you think the top of the muffin is the best part of the muffin? I do.

Yields: 10 – 12
Bake: 400° for 16 mins.

{Muffin Ingredients}
2 C. All Purpose Flour
1/2 C. Sugar
3/4 C. Unsweetened Almond Milk
1/4 C. Canola Oil
1 Large Egg
2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Salt
2 Medium Bananas {very ripe} Mashed

{Topping Ingredients}
Brown Sugar
Chopped Walnuts

Preheat oven to 400°.
Grease your muffin top pan using a bit of canola oil.

Many recipes have a precise way of mixing the ingredients together. That’s not really the case with this recipe. Out of habit I mixed together the dry ingredients and then in no specific order mixed in the wet ingredients using a fork. I did mix in the banana last and if you do this with a fruit like blueberries you’ll want to do that and fold them in gently.  No need to over mix, just make sure everything is well incorporated.

In a separate dish mix together the brown sugar and chopped walnuts.

Fill your muffin top pan with the batter and then sprinkle your brown sugar and walnut mix on top. Bake for 16 mins.

Note:
I ran a toothpick around the edge of the muffin before attempting to take it out of the pan since the leverage for the spatula isn’t flat like a cookie sheet and liners are not used.

I like them best warm and think that other flavors might make for fun breakfast sandwich buns.
Hope y’all enjoy!

xoxo,

