Tags

, , ,

Here’s a little project that I did in effort to make my apartment feel a bit more like home.  I’d love to paint a chevron backsplash in my kitchen, but that would require painting over it when I eventually move and I’m not so sure I want to deal with that.  I decided to do a bit of word art instead or for the time being, that’s yet to be determined. It needed a little pop so I chose to put the word EAT over the oven.  I think it turned out cute.

press board letters, acrylic paint, clear coat polyurethane, sponge brush, sticky velcro {not pictured} and something to protect your work space. I reused an old paper grocery bag as protection for my table that I worked on.

{A Quick How-To}
Paint the letters using the acrylic paint and sponge brush. It took about 3 coats for me to get a good cover so the brown wasn’t visable behind the paint. Once the paint is dry spray them with the polyurethane {follow the directions on the can}. I stepped outside on my balcony for this step and still used the paper bag to protect the patio floor of overspray. I would do at least 2-3 coats of the polyurethane. Once your letters have had enough time to thoroughly dry place your velcro on multiple places on the back so that you can adhere them to the wall. You can obviously use other ways to mount them, but this was cheap, easy and works for temporary purposes. Before I placed the letters on the wall I made sure I knew their placing and spacing because once the sticky side is on the wall it’s really on there

Just a lil somethin' somethin' to a space in need of a little love.

xoxo,

