Tags

, , , , ,

Yes, I know I’m cheesy, but I couldn’t help using an orange pun. Another recipe?! I will be sharing pretty things again soon. I know it seems I’ve been on a recipe train, but I’ve been pretty successful in whipping up some share worthy bites lately. I told y’all if my recipes were worth it I’d share them.

This orange chicken recipe is soy-free, yippee! I use a certain salad dressing in it that doesn’t use soybean oil – hard to imagine isn’t it? Unless you’re concocting your own dressings at home, most of them have soybean oil in them…yes, even if they say made with olive oil.  What is the point of that?! But, if soy isn’t a worry for you, do whatcha’ want. 🙂 Oh, and don’t say ewww to the salad dressing being in the recipe until you’ve tried it. It’s tasty. I promise!

Soy-Free Orange Chicken

Chicken:

  • 3 boneless and skinless chicken breasts
  • Olive Oil

Orange Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup + 1 tsp Worsheshire Sauce
  • Just under 1/2 cup Italian Vinaigrette Salad Dressing (this is the one I use)
  • 1  3/4 cup Orange Juice
  • 1/2 tsp Minced Garlic (you only need this small amount because of the salad dressing)
  • 1/4 tsp Minced Ginger (if you’re not a fan of ginger you can omit it)
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 4 tbsp Corn Starch

Directions:

Rinse chicken breasts in cold water and pat dry with paper towel. Slice chicken breasts length wise creating strips and then cut them into small to medium cubes. Pour olive oil in a pan {just enough to lightly cover the bottom} then place chicken in the pan and using tongs coat the chicken with the oil. Cook chicken until just done.

In a separate pot or non-stick pan combine your sauce ingredients minus the corn starch. Heat the liquid mixture on med/high until it comes to a low boil. Once it begins to boil whisk cornstarch into the mixture 1 tablespoon at a time. Make sure the cornstarch is fully incorporated after each tablespoon is added. Continue stirring the sauce on a simmer until it thickens.

Once your chicken has finished cooking drain it and then add it to the thickened sauce. Keep over low to med/low heat for a few minutes.

Serve over rice or noodles and stir fry veggies & ENJOY!

Hopefully you’ll find the recipe to be as enjoyable as I have. I’d love to hear what y’all think of it after trying it out.

xoxo,

