Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This is a quick, refreshing and EASY homemade salad. Who wants to eat heavy during the summer? Not this girl!

YOU’LL NEED:

  • Baked and Chilled Chicken Breasts {thinly sliced}
  • Strawberries {sliced}
  • Pineapple Chunks
  • Toasted Pecan Halves {mine are from Ms. Jackie & Mr. E’s pecan trees in Louisiana ♥}
  • Salad Greens of Your Choice
  • Homemade Poppyseed Dressing

CHICKEN BREASTS:

I baked my skinless chicken breasts the night before for about 40 mins at 350° using a bit of olive oil and Morton’s Nature’s Seasoning. When I was ready for my salad I thinly sliced my chicken and placed it in a non-stick pan with another light sprinkling of the Nature’s Seasoning and took just a bit of the chill out of it.

POPPYSEED DRESSING:

  • 1/3 c. white vinegar
  • 1 tsp. Kosher salt
  • A smidge of black pepper
  • 3/4 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp.  ground mustard
  • 1 green onion, ends removed {the roots and just the end of the green part where it begins to get get a little floppy}
  • 1/2 c. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. poppy seeds

In a blender {I use a kitchen boat motor – technically an immersion blender}, combine vinegar, salt, pepper, sugar, and mustard. While the blender is running, add the green onion. Continue to blend and add the oil in a steady stream until it is fully incorporated into the dressing.

Pour the dressing into your serving or storage container and whisk in the poppy seeds.

THE SALAD:

Mix the strawberries, pineapple chunks and toasted pecans into the salad greens. Then, add the sliced chicken to the top. Serve with the poppyseed dressing. I like the dressing served on the side, but you can dress the salad prior to serving if you prefer.

To mimic Panera’s famous summertime favorite salad just add blueberries and mandarin oranges. I wanted to keep the sugar down just a bit because of the dressing so I didn’t add the additional fruit this time. 

Easy & delish! Enjoy!

xoxo,

