Tags

, , , , ,

Thanksgiving is only a couple of days away, can you believe it?! Where has this year gone? Before we know it, Christmas will be here – woah!

Because I no longer live in the same state as my family my boyfriend and I split the holidays between our families. This year it’s Thanksgiving with his side and Christmas with mine, last year was the opposite. Nothing has been asked of me but I refuse to show up to Thanksgiving empty handed so I’ll be making my mom’s cranberry pear sauce. I want to contribute something delicious without having to slave over it. It’s easy as pie, but it’s not pie. 😉

Cranberry Pear Sauce – yields 2 1/4 cups

  • 1 Cup Oceanspray Cranberry Cocktail Juice
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 12 oz. package of fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 a pear to a whole pear depending on size, peeled & diced (the pear shouldn’t be the star, just an accent, I also think leaving the peels will be just fine for the pears though I peeled mine)

In a medium sauce pan, bring the juice and sugar to a boil, then add the cranberries. When the pot returns to a rolling boil reduce the heat to a slow boil. Boil for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. (You will hear the cranberries pop when cooking). At about mid way (5 mins) into cooking, so that they don’t become mush, stir in pears.

Pour the sauce into a bowl and cover with plastic wrap. The plastic wrap should touch the sauce so it can prevent a film from forming on the top like homemade pudding does (tip: you can do the same with pudding to prevent the film). Cool the sauce completely at room temperature. Cooling the sauce fully at room temperature before refrigerating it is very important for it to set correctly. After the sauce has come to room temperature refrigerate it until serving time and then ENJOY!

I’ll will store my sauce in big mason jars – a cute and easy way to transport it.

Are you traveling for Thanksgiving? What are you making?

xoxo,

